Old Tools?

Old Tools? 2016-06-01T16:19:48+00:00
  • Creator
    Topic

GM
    Participant

I am new to woodworking.  I have read the articles on Wood and Shop and feel hesitant to start searching ebay and flea markets for old tools and restoring them. I feel that this will take an awful lot of time and energy.  Is there an alternative? Perhaps an online or physical store or brand where I can trust what they sell and where prices are reasonable, so I can just get to work on projects and learn how to work wood?

Thank you for your input!

Gary

• Author
    Replies
  • Mike in TN
    Participant

Hi Gary,

There are some online antique  tool dealers but they tend to ask top-of-the-market prices for their wares and you will most probably still have to restore them to some degree before you can use them. Most tool dealers won’t restore a tool because it isn’t cost effective and collectors often don’t want restored tools. EBay can be a good source, especially for folks that live in areas without a woodworking tradition and history but you run the risk of getting a bad tool. I have never bought from online used tool dealers or from EBay because I have been able to find tools locally through the years. I have bought a lot of tools at the flea markets but the type of markets that often feature old tools (folks bringing their own items) seems to be drying up. I now find most of my stuff in estate sales and you can reduce the time invested by being selective about which ones you go to.