unknown small handplane

//unknown small handplane
unknown small handplane 2015-11-09T09:14:32+00:00
  • Creator
    Topic

Kotobuki
    Participant

Hi Again,

I was the lucky recipient of a dry shed full of hand tools that belonged to my great grandfather, a German trained (apprenticed) cabinet maker that immigrated to this country. Among the Stanley hand planes, including a number 2, was a small unnamed plane of about 5 1/2 inches long. It is a simple tool, with only one adjustment. There is no tote handle and a small wooden knob in the front. As all of the tools that I recovered last week, it was covered with rust and 60 years of grime. None of these things were used since the late forties early fifties.

Since I am new to restoration, I decided to tackle this little plane first. I took it all apart, (six pieces all together, body, blade, blade holder, adjustment screw, knob, and knob screw), put it all except the knob in a basket and lowered it into a vapor degreaser for several hours, hosed it off with carb cleaner and let dry. Then I put it all into a 5 gallon bucket of Evaporust for a week. After that week, it came out a nice cast iron grey, except the blade which is a bi-metal affair, the back part being iron/low grade steel and about 3/4 of an inch from the cutting edge being a higher grade steel.

I decided to paint the inside of the body red (as there was some little areas under the knob that were red). The only markings on this plane are on the body and blade holder. The body has the number 4 on the back edge of the mouth, the letter U enclosed in a circle under the rod that the blade holder sits under, another 4 near the back quarter and “Made in the U.S.A.” on the back of the body. The blade holder has the number 5 and the letter U on its underside.