Wood shavings and what to do with them?

//Wood shavings and what to do with them?
Wood shavings and what to do with them? 2015-06-19T19:31:48+00:00
  • Creator
    Topic

Daniel
    Participant

So I’m making a lot of wood shavings, how can I use them? Is there even a use for them?

If there is no use for them, what is the best way to get them off my garage floor?
    I’m still new to working wood and I’ve made more saw dust than shavings in my limited experience. After finding Joshua’s site I have been inspired to focus more on hand tools, particularly planes. Now I’m making a lot more shavings and thinking maybe there is a use for them?

Any thoughts?

• Author
    Replies
  • Don
    Participant

Wood Shavings

Well to get them off the floor of your shop use a Shop Vac, which is better than a broom as the broom will put sawdust back in the air.  If you live in town the best solution is to bag them and set them out for the trash.  If you live in a rural setting you can always burn them, especially if you have a wood stove.  You can make fire starters with them, which is just to put some shavings or sawdust in a cup cake pan and them pour hot wax over them.  Allow  to cool until solid and they make good fire starters for  the wood stove.  Other uses are to let them compost with other materials for use on the garden or for mulch.  Let the shavings compost a good long time as in a fresh state they will use up available nitrogen in the soil.  Hope one of these suggestions work for you.

Don

1 user thanked author for this post.
  • Daniel
    Participant

Nice suggestions, I’ll try the wax idea for fun.

• Yorkshire Sam
    Participant

bag them up

I bag mine up … usually end up with about 2-3 bin bags full every two weeks or so I then take them down to my local allotment where there are plenty of chicken keepers who are very grateful for the supply. Helps to keep the environment dump down this way.

• MetalworkerMike
    Participant